Wellington-WEF.com Message Board
May 19, 2013, 12:24:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Thank you for visiting the message board!  We are excited to be the community meeting place for Wellington, WEF and all Equestrians who use our site.  Please be sure to visit our Business, Boarding & Trainers, Horses for Sale, and Real Estate/Lodging Directories as well. Type Wellington-WEF.com into your browser if you do not see a "wood" navigation bar at the top of this message board.
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Would YOU respond to this ad, or is there something about it that is odd  (Read 1409 times)
Clinics
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 408


View Profile
« on: June 30, 2010, 08:33:25 AM »

There is just something about this craigslist ad that does not feel right. Maybe it is the spelling or punctuation or simply that it is from Miami, looking for a free horse, and mentioning slaughter.....not sure but it's creepy, what do you all think?



Do you have a horse you need a home for (Miami)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: 2010-06-30, 1:21AM EDT
Reply to: sale-zrvqb-1818480454@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm looking for a peson or family who has a horse they no longer take care of .I know things are tough and sometimes we need to part with a horse whos been a family member.But your afraid somebody might butcher it or sale it.I love animals and will provide an excellent home for your horse my wife and kids are horse lovers too.An the best of all you can visit and even ride it from time to time.That way you know it stated with me.Don't let your horse get thin or sick because you can't provide the care it needs.i'm just looking for one horse now.as time goes on i will probably get another one.


Location: Miami
it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
 
 

PostingID: 1818480454
Logged
Kim L.
Full Member
***
Posts: 114


I Heart (Love) Ten Bar Skipper


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 08:52:37 AM »

Nope does not feel right with me at all either...
Logged
Norma
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 375


Out standing in his field!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 09:09:58 AM »

Sounds a little sketchy.....
Logged
pell7290
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 549



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2010, 09:18:26 AM »

THESE ADS ARE GONG UO EVERYWHERE .....I HAVE ALSO SEEN IT IN THE PBC SECTION !
Logged
Tisbouncy
Full Member
***
Posts: 219



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2010, 11:18:00 AM »

It's sad, because horse meat is selling $4.00 per pound.  So these people without a caring bone in their body, are buying up the horses that are selling for cheap and or hoping to get them for free.   1000 lb horse selling for $500 = A sick MF selling it to a butcher and making a huge profit on someones pet.   

PLEASE make sure when you sell a horse that you have some sort of paperwork stating that the new owner MUST let you visit and give you first option to buy back the horse should they themselves need to rehome it for whatever reason.

So yes, I do agree that something seems a little fishy about that ad.
Logged

We do not have to wait for Heaven, to be surrounde
Ridersup
Full Member
***
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2010, 01:18:05 PM »

I don't know how to cross post...saw this under Charlotte, NC craigslist farm and garden. American Quarterhorse mare w/ colt 1000.00  There is a picture, the mare is underweight, and tied to a long rope. Foal looks very healthy, and obviously a mule, and very cute.
Logged
Ridersup
Full Member
***
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2010, 05:41:10 PM »

I guess the Admin put my post here, thanks for not deleting. As for the original post, it does sound fishy, it's either an underhanded person, or it could be a well meaning person. I posted the info. for the mare and foal because I couldn't get over the picture. Maybe someone will see it that would really like to buy (I think he also said will trade for cow) these two.
Logged
Delia
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 608


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2010, 10:33:36 PM »

The ad could be a scam or it could be sincere.  Responding to the ad doesn't mean that a horse would be going to the person who wrote the ad, it's just conversation.  It might be interesting to know where the horse would live, who are the caretakers and what is their experience with horses, any minimal basic vet knowledge, etc.
I will admit that the ad seems "off".
Logged
Shadow
Full Member
***
Posts: 171


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2010, 10:04:41 PM »

WAY creepy!!  Doesnt ring right at all!
Logged
Clinics
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 408


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2010, 10:01:53 AM »

Here it is today's ad

anybody has a horse looking for a good forever home (broward)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: 2010-07-02, 1:41AM EDT
Reply to: sale-aqcpy-1821946543@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm looking a horse to adopt......we would give him or she a forever home he or she would have to be still ridiable for my kids 12 and 13 yr boys.....the horse will get an excellent home with people that would love him or she ......please email with pics and age thank you


Location: broward
it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
 
 

PostingID: 1821946543
Logged
Ridersup
Full Member
***
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2010, 11:56:55 AM »

OK, if they had to post again because they have not found a horse yet, then I think they are lying, hope no one falls for this...
Logged
Clinics
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 408


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2010, 01:05:07 PM »

I am starting to wonder if maybe these ads are posted by officers intending to find people who would give their horses to strangers that could ultimately end up slaughtered...maybe part of the Miami sting. The reason I say that is that they are going up everyday, in multiple cities, for the last week or so. They are so very strange. Well hopefully no horse falls in the wrong hands
Logged
Ridersup
Full Member
***
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2010, 03:12:54 PM »

I've wondered the same thing. A while ago, there were a lot of ads for Paint horses on craigslist, priced very cheaply.
Logged
blackie
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2010, 12:19:41 PM »

has anyone replied to ad to find out?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!